West Palm Beach First Responders Workers’ Compensation Injuries
Florida law provides additional protections and compensation for on-the-job injuries for certain professions. South Florida first responders work on the front lines, and are therefore more likely to confront situations that can cause them to suffer emotional, mental, or physical trauma. Thanks to the passage of Florida SB 376: Workers’ Compensation Benefits for First Responders, a law enforcement officer, firefighter, paramedic, or emergency medical technician can receive indemnity and medical benefits for PTSD from a job-related event, even if it is not accompanied by a physical injury.
Common First Responders Injuries On The Job
The most common first responder injuries on the job include:
- Exposure to a pathogen or toxic material
- Post-traumatic stress from witnessing a suicide or the aftermath of a suicide
- Physical injuries sustained as a result of your job
- Post-traumatic stress from responding to a call where a minor dies or seeing a minor pass away
- Cardiac conditions such as heart disease or hypertension
As a first responder, you have every right to ask your employer representative for a list of comprehensive benefits to help you to have a full understanding of your workers' compensation package and how it covers you.
Tell Us About Your Case
Ask A Question, Tell Us What Happened or Request a Free Consultation
Why Choose DiBiaggio Law?
Real Clients, Real Testimonials
I take a personal interest in my clients and will work hard to get you the benefits that you deserve. I have good relationships with judges and other attorneys, and as a result, consider myself to be a very skillful negotiator.
West Palm Beach Personal Injury & Social Security Disability Attorney
First Responders Workers' Compensation Caims Basics
Whether the on the job injury is mental or physical, as a first responder you must report it to your supervisor, ask them to prepare a Notice of Injury, and request to see a doctor right away.
The deadlines for filing claims vary, based on the nature of your injury:
- Physical injury claims must be filed within 30 days
- Cardiac claims must be filed within 90 days
- Mental or nervous injuries must be filed within 52 weeks
Under Florida Statute 112.18, a licensed psychiatrist must diagnose you with PTSD as a result of one or more qualifying events as listed in the statute. Regardless of the type of work-related injury, your employer may refuse to complete a Notice of Injury on your behalf, or not know how to report your claim. If you need assistance with the preparation of this crucial document, or encounter problems in filing your claim, contact an experienced and dedicated South Florida workers’ compensation attorney at DiBiaggio Law at 561-473-9800 or toll free at 844-443-1212.
First Responders Workers' Compensation
Florida Statute 112.1815 provides additional workers’ compensation protections for first responders. The passage of Florida SB 376: Workers’ Compensation Benefits for First Responders authorized workers’ compensation benefits for PTSD, whether or not the first responder suffers an accompanying physical injury. The bill authorizes the compensation of indemnity benefits if the first responder develops PTSD from the course and scope of employment. The first responder must undergo an examination and diagnosis by a treating psychiatrist authorized by the employer or carrier, if the first responder experiences a qualifying event such as seeing a deceased minor, witnessing the death of a minor, or seeing a decedent whose death was caused by grievous harm that shocks the conscience. For a full understanding of the special protections for first responders workers’ compensation, contact an experienced workers’ compensation attorney at DiBiaggio Law at 561-473-9800 or toll free at 844-443-1212.
Do I Have A Case?
Even if you strictly adhere to the process for filing a first responders workers’ compensation claim, the workers’ comp insurance company may still deny it. Furthermore, Florida law offers additional protections for first responders. To understand your rights and receive the compensation to which you are entitled, you need the services of an experienced and dedicated first responders workers’ compensation attorney.
With 30 years of experience in work accident and personal injury cases, DiBiaggio Law combines a thorough knowledge of the law and a passion for helping clients in Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, and Monroe Counties receive proper compensation following an injury on the job.
How Much Is My Case Worth?
We can't tell you how much your case is worth without learning the details. You’ll need to meet with us and share the pertinent details of your injury on the job and the first responders workers’ compensation protocols you followed. Talk to a South Florida Workers’ Compensation attorney as soon as possible. Contact us at (561) 473-9800or toll free at 844-443-1212 to talk to a DiBiaggio Law Workers’ Compensation attorney who can help you build your case.