West Palm Beach Workers’ Compensation
When you suffer a South Florida workers’ compensation injury, it can disrupt your life in countless ways. Aside from your physical health, a work injury impacts your career, finances, and quality of life. The Florida Workers’ Compensation System was created to compensate you for some of your losses and help you recover and return to work as soon as possible. Florida Workers’ Compensation covers:
- Temporary Disability Benefits
- Permanent Impairment Benefits
- Permanent Total Disability Benefits
- Medical care
Most employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance, either through a private insurance company or by obtaining state certification to self-insure. In Florida’s no-fault workers’ compensation system, you do not have to prove negligence or carelessness by your employer. The only requirement to file a South Florida workers’ compensation claim is that your injury took place on the job or was the result of work-related activities
Common Catastrophic Injuries On The Job
Workers’ compensation injuries are not limited to severe onsite injuries in physically demanding jobs. Employees in various fields in a broad spectrum of industries can sustain workers’ compensation injuries on the job. Here are the six most common:
- Slip, Trip, and Falls
- Repetitive Strain Injuries
- Struck by or Against an Object
- Highway Accidents
- Machinery Accidents
Tell Us About Your Case
Ask A Question, Tell Us What Happened or Request a Free Consultation
Why Choose DiBiaggio Law?
Real Clients, Real Testimonials
I take a personal interest in my clients and will work hard to get you the benefits that you deserve. I have good relationships with judges and other attorneys, and as a result, consider myself to be a very skillful negotiator.
West Palm Beach Personal Injury & Social Security Disability Attorney
Worker's Compensation Claims Basics
Following an injury on the job, your first step to filing a worker’s compensation claim is to notify your employer. In accordance with Florida law, most injuries must be reported within 30 days. For a condition or illness that develops over time, you must notify your employer within 30 days of discovering its relationship to your work. Failure to notify your employer within these deadlines may result in the loss of some or all of your benefits.
Provide your employer with as much detail as you can, including:
- When the accident happened
- How you hurt yourself
- A clear description of your symptoms
Once you report an injury to your employer, they should send you to a workers’ compensation approved occupational doctor, unless you require emergency treatment. It is vital that you share accurate and detailed information with your doctor about the cause of your injuries and the severity of your symptoms.
The Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) monitors all workers’ comp claims in the state. Once you have notified your employer about your injury, they have seven days to report your on the job injury to their workers’ compensation insurance company. The insurance company will conduct an investigation to determine your eligibility for benefits, which may include:
- A review of your medical records
- An analysis of your work experience, education, and wages
- An order of a medical examination to assess your condition
- A functional capacity evaluation to assess your ability to perform your work duties
Florida workers’ compensation law requires insurance companies to approve or deny your workers’ compensation benefits as quickly as possible. If approved, you will receive money payments, medical care, and other benefits. However, the sad reality is that insurance companies deny many workers’ compensation claims.
Do I Have A Case?
Even if you strictly adhere to the process for filing a workers’ compensation claim, the workers’ comp insurance company may still deny it. Furthermore, Florida law does not require your employer to hold your job until you recover and return to work. To protect your rights and receive the compensation to which you are entitled, you need the services of an experienced and dedicated workers’ compensation attorney.
With 30 years of experience in work accident and personal injury cases, DiBiaggio Law combines a thorough knowledge of the law and a passion for helping clients in Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, and Monroe Counties receive proper compensation following an injury on the job.
How Much Is My Case Worth?
We can't tell you how much your case is worth without learning the details. You’ll need to meet with us and share the pertinent details of your injury on the job and the workers’ compensation protocols you followed. Talk to a South Florida Workers’ Compensation attorney as soon as possible. Contact us at (561) 473-9800 or toll free at 844-443-1212 to talk to a DiBiaggio Law Workers’ Compensation attorney who can help you build your case.