If you or a loved one suffered an injury in a South Florida car crash, then be sure to call a professional car accident attorney right away. Personal injury cases resulting from a car accident can be complex, particularly if the other driver is uninsured. In fact, Florida is the sixth worst state in the nation for uninsured drivers, with a whopping 20.4% of people driving with no insurance. That’s 7.5% higher than the national average of 12.9%!
After suffering an injury in a car crash, you’re going to need the services of a competent car accident attorney to handle your case. At DiBiaggio Law of West Palm Beach, we work on personal injury cases resulting from car accidents every day, helping the South Florida community with their legal needs.
The Professional Car Accident Attorney You Can Trust: Dierdre DiBiaggio
Attorney Dierdre DiBiaggio has over 30 years of experience practicing law in the state of Florida. With her compassionate approach to clients and unyielding stance in the courtroom, she’s prepared to fight relentlessly on your behalf.
If you’ve suffered an injury in a South Florida car crash, the team at DiBiaggio Law has the skill and expertise to handle your case, no matter how complex. Call our West Palm Beach office today to schedule your free consultation at (561) 473-9800.
Florida Car Accident Laws
Florida is a comparative fault state. The no-fault rule means that drivers who are partly or even mostly at fault in a car crash can still seek compensation for their injuries. Also, the judge or insurance company will assign each driver a percentage of responsibility that’s directly proportionate to the damages they’ll receive.
Under the no-fault rule, drivers have to file an insurance claim under their own PIP (Personal Injury Protection) coverage to seek compensation for any financial losses in an accident. However, the no-fault rule has exceptions for accidents that cause:
- Permanent disfigurement or scarring
- Permanent injury
- Permanent or significant loss of body function
- Wrongful death
- Damages exceeding $10,000
Minimum Insurance Requirements
Every Florida resident needs mandatory insurance coverage to drive legally. The minimum insurance requirements are:
- $10,000 PIP
- $10,000 PDL (Property Damage Liability)
In addition, Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law usually convinces most drivers to purchase at least $10,000 of BIL (Bodily Injury Liability) coverage per person, and $20,000 per accident. Without this coverage, if you cause a crash that injures another driver, you’ll have to pay a $10,000 or $20,000 bond to the state of Florida. Failure to pay will result in a suspended driver’s license.
Car Accident Law in Florida Changes in 2022
In January 2022, the laws in Florida concerning car accident injuries will change dramatically. Under the new law, Florida will no longer be a no-fault state. Also, there will be no more cap or limit on the amount of financial compensation you can seek for pain and suffering.
The minimum insurance coverage requirements will also change. Mandatory BIL coverage will increase to $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
What Should You Do After You’ve Suffered an Injury in a South Florida Car Crash?
Seek Medical Attention Immediately
If you suffer a minor to moderate injury in an auto accident, the first thing you need to do is file a police report. Next, seek medical attention as soon as possible even if you don’t believe you’re badly hurt.
In Florida, car accident victims only have 14 days after a crash to undergo a professional medical evaluation. If you miss the deadline, you won’t be able to file a claim under your PIP coverage.
Hire a Car Accident Lawyer
After you seek medical attention, the next step is to call a competent personal injury law firm. An experienced car accident lawyer can help you with every aspect of your case, ensuring that you don’t miss deadlines or file incorrect paperwork.
When you choose the legal team at DiBiaggio Law, we’ll walk you through every step of the process, making it as hassle-free as we can. Also, our law firm works on a contingency basis, which means that we don’t get paid until you do.
File Your Suit as Quickly as Possible
Another important consideration to remember after a car crash injury is the statute of limitations regarding accidents. Florida drivers have four years to sue after a standard accident. However, the four-year limit drops to two years in wrongful death car wrecks. The deadline is another reason why it’s crucial to hire a car accident lawyer as quickly as possible after your injury.
Did You Suffer an Injury in a South Florida Car Accident? Call DiBiaggio Law Right Away
If you or a loved one suffered an injury in South Florida from a car crash, you’re going to need professional legal help from a car accident attorney. Here at DiBiaggio Law, we’re the car accident lawyers you can trust. We fight hard for our clients in Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, and Monroe Counties, offering each one personal and effective representation. Contact us at DiBiaggio Law today at (561) 473-9800 to schedule your free consultation.
Copyright© 2021. DiBiaggio Law. All rights reserved.
The information in this blog post (“post”) is provided for general informational purposes only and may not reflect the current law in your jurisdiction. No information in this post should be construed as legal advice from the individual author or the law firm, nor is it intended to be a substitute for legal counsel on any subject matter. No reader of this post should act or refrain from acting based on any information included in or accessible through this post without seeking the appropriate legal or other professional advice on the particular facts and circumstances at issue from a lawyer licensed in the recipient’s state, country or other appropriate licensing jurisdiction.
605 Belvedere Road, Suite 17
West Palm Beach, FL 33405